Angela Carter

Photo of Angela Carter

Photo: © The British Library Board

About the Author

Angela Carter (1940-1992) was born in Eastbourne, England. When she published her first novel, Shadow Dance, in 1966, she was immediately recognized as one of Britain’s most original writers. Eight other novels followed: The Magic Toyshop, Several Perceptions, Heroes and Villains, Love, The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman, The Passion of New Eve, Nights at the Circus, and Wise Children. Carter published four collections of short stories: The Bloody Chamber, Fireworks, Saints and Strangers (published in the U.K. as Black Venus), and American Ghosts and Old World Wonders. Her other writings include a book of essays called The Sadeian Woman, two collections of journalism, and a volume of radio plays. Carter wrote the screenplay for the 1984 film The Company of Wolves, based on her short story. In 2008 the London Times ranked her tenth on its list of 50 Greatest British Writers Since 1945.

Sign me up for news about Angela Carter

Back to Top